RSS Feed

A Festive Shambles

Posted on

I will look back on this Christmas and see the funny side… Eventually. O.K I may be exaggerating a little but let’s just say our first Christmas eating out ended with a full refund demanded by my brother. Our table hadn’t been cleaned before we sat down and we were placed in a cold damp room with paint peeling off the walls. The food wasn’t actually that bad despite having to wait for my vegetarian pie whilst already 20 minutes into eating the rest of the trimmings.

The carvery had run out of all meats apart from Turkey so if you hadn’t ordered turkey you were going to get it anyway… And served by a carver who looked like he was going to burst into tears under pressure. All the staff were over worked and looked stressed and miserable, in fact the guy that we had waiting on our table admitted that he didn’t even work at that restaurant and had been roped into helping out.

As I got up to go to the toilet I could hear people complaining left, right and centre and the manager, in turmoil at this time looked like he wanted to run far far away from the place as he could get. By the time we left there were people queuing up for refunds. Very poor organisation was to blame for such a shambolic event. 1) they should have got more staff in, especially kitchen staff and 2) they should have made the carvery a ticketed process where the carver could tell what meat everyone had ordered. I don’t even work in a restaurant and that’s just common sense.

While watching this whole disaster unravel I managed to stay composed and remain positive throughout. It will certainly be a Christmas to remember anyway. On a much happier note, it was lovely to spend the day with my family.

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

2 responses »

  1. I don’t eat out on Christmas because I sense that those working don’t want to be there waiting/cooking for me.

    Reply
    • That’s exactly what I sensed. It actually made me feel bad and I attempted to make a couple of the staff smile. I think I’ll be eating in next year haha!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

