RSS Feed

Sculpey Donuts

Posted on

I finally made my very first polymer clay creations and I’m pleased to announce that nothing went wrong in the process. I thought I would share with you my step by step account of how I made my cute mini donuts.

Step 1

I used the Ecru coloured ‘Premo Sculpy’ and a very small amount of ‘Raw Siena Premo Sculpey’ and blended it together to make the original colour a little darker. I rolled it into a ball and flattened it a little making sure the edges were rounded and smooth. To make the hole in the middle, I used the end of a paint brush. You can make your donuts as big or as small as you want.

Step 2

Smooth off any rough bits ready to place the icing on.

Step 3

Choose the colour of your icing. I used Green Translucent Premo Sculpey on 3 of them (it looks blue here though).  I also used Candy Pink Sculpey III mixed with a little White to take away the harsh brightness of it on the other 3. measure the icing against your donut then flatten it with your fingers until quite thin. Place the icing over the donut gently pressing it all down evenly being careful not to miss-shapen the whole thing. get the end of the paintbrush again and push it through, making a hole in the icing. It should then look like this:

Step 4

To make the little hundreds and thousands I used the Raw Siena and Green translucent on the pink icing and Raw Siena and Candy pink on the green icing. I broke off a small piece of each sculpey and rolled them into very thin pieces, I used the scalpel to cut tiny pieces and slightly rolling them into the right shape. I placed them onto the donut and pressing them firmly with the side of the scalpel.

Your finished product should look something like this:

Hopefully all that made sense to you. I had so much fun creating these and I will be adding them to a bigger creation which I still need to buy the resources for. Now I look forward to making something else with the Sculpey… but what? 🙂

 

 

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

Leave a Reply

