RSS Feed

Have I Got What It Takes?

Posted on

I’ve been asking myself this question since Thursday when I was given a part in October’s show. This was only my second time of attending the amateur operatic society. The organisers obviously have a lot of faith in me and I don’t want to let them down. I’ve been swatting up on the Opera ‘Trial by Jury’ by watching performances on DVD, YouTube clips and have downloaded the music by Gilbert and Sullivan which I am currently listening to on my mp3 player. I should imagine that this is what I’ll be listening to continuously over the next few months…. even in my sleep!

I’m going to be playing a ditzy bridesmaid with three other girls. It’s not a big part thank goodness, I only come on just over half way through the 45 minute performance. The music teacher ran through some keys with me like she said she would on the first night and I discovered that I am somewhere between Alto and Soprano. I seem to crack a bit on very high notes so she said I can try sitting with the Alto’s at some point to see how I go but she hasn’t got a problem with me joining in with the Soprano’s. I suppose I shall figure all this out later on once I have settled in. Until then I have a lot of work to do 🙂

 

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

One response »

Leave a Reply

