RSS Feed

Blogging Etiquette

Posted on

There’s nothing worse than seeing a nasty comment on a new blog post that you may have put a lot of thought and effort into. Fortunately I’ve been blessed with a kind audience that like and leave nice comments on my posts which continuously boosts my blogging confidence. Yes I’ve had one or two negative comments since I started my blog around 16 months ago but that is to be expected. Not everyone is going to agree with you. Some people are not so fortunate.

A friend of mine has experienced a lot of negativity on her blog for a while now and it has effected her deeply, to the point where she doesn’t want to write a new post in fear that she will get some abuse thrown back at her for it. There isn’t anything offensive in her content and it baffles us as to who could be so cruel and really quite personal with their responses.

My motto when replying to people’s posts is to leave a constructive and friendly comment. I’ve always been one to avoid conflict, even online. You may not know the person you are replying to, but think about how your comment is going be perceived by them. If I read something that I don’t agree with I simply don’t leave a comment. That’s probably not how everyone works but as I see it WordPress is here to be enjoyed, not to get angry at.

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

5 responses »

  1. If not inappropriate,give a link to that blog and positive reinforcement could be given!

    Reply
  2. What a post girlie. You really are a great person.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

