RSS Feed

2012 to do List – Achieved or Failed

Posted on

Just before the new year set in I created a to do list for 2012. I didn’t want to commit myself to new years resolutions because a lot of the time I don’t stick to them. So here’s the moment I find out whether the list has been a success or not.

1) Be more Creative:

I suppose I’ve been more creative than previous years but still not as much as I would liked to have been. I haven’t painted or sketched anything but I have written a lot and that has made me happy. My biggest creative achievement this year was getting 3 of my dark poems published in issue 37 of ‘Death Head Grin’, a monthly online horror, sci-fi and fantasy fiction poetry and artwork magazine http://www.deathheadgrin.com/12_08/id587.htm

2) Make an effort to visit more places of interest:

I’m not sure exactly what my aim was when I wrote this. I’ve ended up in places of interest but none that I would have planned to visit before hand. I don’t know if that makes sense to you but I know what I’m talking about 🙂 there are still many places of interest I want to visit, some in London itself.

3) Travel more – even if it’s within the UK:

I would say this has been a success with my trip to Spain, Barcelona, Disneyland and my beloved Torquay and Paignton in Devon. I would still very much like to visit Bath and Canterbury.

4) Watch more films:

With my obsession with Amazon I have definitely achieved this one. I have certainly watched many films on DVD but it’s a rare occasion when I go to the cinema which is something I used to love doing. I’ve also watched a lot of series box sets.

5) Try to get to more rock gigs:

Still more successful than previous years with ‘Lost Prophets’ and ‘Evanescence’. I’m sure there’s been a couple of up and coming bands I’ve seen along the way but it’s not something that is important to me now.

6) Concentrate on theatre shows I haven’t seen:

The Only different shows I’ve seen this year is ‘Wicked’, ‘Million Dollar Quartet’ and ‘Dreamboats and Petticoats’ (tour). I’ve even cut down seeing ‘Jersey Boys’ so much now. There’s still so many more shows I’d like to see though and I’ll continue to get to the theatre whenever I can.

Overall Verdict!

I think I’ve done better than expected to be honest making the ‘to do list’ an achievement and I hadn’t intended on following it. It’s been interesting looking back on what I have achieved and it has given me an incentive to do something similar for next year so watch this space 🙂

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

2 responses »

  1. What a lovely idea and how awesome that you’ve achieved soo much. X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

