RSS Feed

Les Miserable Pre-Screening

Posted on

On Tuesday 4th I attended the pre-screening of the film adaptation of Les mis. It was a cast and crew event and I was very excited to be among the audience with my friend Julie. Despite being a big musical theatre fan I still haven’t got around to seeing this award-winning show at the West End. Guest speakers included theatre producer Sir Cameron Mackintosh and Director Tom Hooper who gave a very low-key introduction to one of the films biggest stars Hugh Jackman. His appearance was a little unexpected and left me overwhelmed being a big X-Men fan. After he said a few words they started the film.

As I hadn’t seen the theatre version I didn’t really know what to expect. The amazing Mr Jackman was unrecognisable in the first scenes playing a prisoner and it wasn’t until later in the film that I realised he had played that part. I was incredibly impressed with the stunning performances from all the actors and especially the main cast who I was surprised to hear sing fantastically. Helena Bonham Carter’s performance was very Sweeney Tod-esque and along with Sacha Baron Cohen added a slight comedy element to the otherwise serious storyline which breaks it up a little.

Overall I loved it. I thought it was very emotional and intense and I found myself holding my breath with anticipation in parts, I also shed a tear or two. I now look forward to the DVD release and I really must get to see the show in the West End now I know what to expect. It will be interesting to compare the two.

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

Leave a Reply

