RSS Feed

More Cycle Lanes Please!

Posted on

I caught something on the news this morning about introducing a walking and cycling action plan which I’m sure was mentioned a year or two ago but anyway, I’ve always been all for encouraging a healthier lifestyle but if they are going to push for this I honestly think they should build more cycle lanes. Not just to protect the cyclists but to protect the pedestrians as well.

When I was small, I had a bad experience which I can still recall clearly to this day. I was 4 years old when I was knocked down by a cyclist in his teens riding on the pavement as I walked beside my mum on our way to the local shops. He came so fast round a corner that he had no time to stop when he saw me. When he finally put on his breaks and stopped he didn’t even apologise to my mum who was picking me up from the floor. Instead his father appeared and had a go at my mum for the fact that he had broken his breaks when he applied them at full force after he had knocked me down and they walked away.

Luckily I wasn’t badly hurt and carried on up the road with my then very angry mum to the shops. On average three pedestrians are killed each year by careless cyclists and although rare, they can’t ignore the fact that it can happen. Obviously compared to road traffic accidents that’s nothing. Still, Cyclists should not be permitted to ride on pavements.

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

2 responses »

  1. Awww hunny. I never knew that. Huggles I know how things like that stick in your mind awesome post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

