RSS Feed

Wound up and Angry

Posted on

Having just sent a complaint to PortAventura, the theme park myself and my friends visited in Spain, I now feel as wound up as I did when I first experienced the issue that I complained about. As some people already know, I’m a huge animal lover. So what I witnessed at the beginning of June appalled me. This is the email I sent PortAventura:

During our trip to the park at the beginning of June, myself and 3 friends were deeply upset after watching the appalling treatment of the horses in Bang Bang West. One of the horses was clearly distressed and having problems breathing yet the show continued. This horse seemed to be having difficulty with the bit that was placed in its mouth and looked as though it was choking. At one point we thought it was going to collapse. The rest of the horses looked hot, exhausted and uncomfortable. We took no notice of the show as we were concerned about the horses. We were sickened and angered but we stayed until the end of the show just to make sure the horse in question was ok. Extremely disappointed with such low animal welfare standards at PortAventura.

As you will see from my review on my reviews page, I had an enjoyable time and was impressed with the rides but I thought this show was a big let down for the park. I would personally like to see the horses pulled out of the show and placed in the care of someone with good knowledge of Equine needs. I hope to receive a reply from the park just to see what they have to say and whether anything is going to be done about it. If I don’t get a response I will have to take it further.

 

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

Leave a Reply

