RSS Feed

Destined for Bigger Things!

Posted on

I’ve often had the feeling that I haven’t quite reached my ultimate goal in life. I have been in the same career (which I can’t name) for about 14/15 years. During that time I had a 2 year break and went back to full-time education. I decided that I wanted to be a zoo keeper so I completed an Animal Management course and obtained various and valuable experience in this field. But much to my horror, at the end of the course I went back to the career that I originally wanted to get away from just to have some money coming in and now after much thought I’m not even sure if zoo keeping was actually for me. Don’t get me wrong, I love working with animals and I know I’ve got what it takes to be a zoo keeper but the only thing that puts me off is working outside in all weathers. I have never been that great with extreme temperatures… I hate being too cold or too hot.

After more consideration I have now come to the conclusion that something I have continuously been interested in has been staring me in the face all along… writing! and now that I think back, it makes perfect sense. Back at school, which seems like a very distant memory I suggested putting a magazine together to distribute to pupils who may have been interested in reading it. I rallied a small team together only to be turned down by the head teacher so I decided not to pursue it. Several years ago I wrote a children’s story aimed at Toddlers, I sent some copies out to many publishers but all I got back was rejection letters so I gave up. Not to say that I wasn’t going to attempt it again in the future… that’s something that may also be in the pipe-line. And of course, there has been blog writing and through that I have discovered my passion for writing reviews and short articles although I don’t do it very often.

Last night I looked around on-line for a course that could possibly suit me. Distance learning would be ideal so I could still work and earn money. So I found the London School of Journalism. Their Freelance and Feature Writing course sounds suitable for what I want to do so I’m going to take time to think about it to make sure that’s what I really want to do. I have started a distance learning course before on Avian Studies but after completing the first unit I lost interest which isn’t the best thing to do when it’s costing you money. So if anyone out there reading this has any tips or information about studying with the London School of Journalism then please, by all means leave a comment, I need all the help I can get.

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

3 responses »

  1. to me, any journalism school would do if u have a knack for writing, which u certainly have… i can see that :)))) bests.

    Reply
  2. adorable…:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

