RSS Feed

Here Comes the Sun!

Posted on

Although I was wishing that I didn’t have to go to work this morning, there remained a certain spring in my step as I glanced out of the window while getting ready. That Monday morning feeling after a fab weekend was just made better by the sunshine. As I walked to work I noticed how beautiful the blossom on the trees looked against the bright blue sky. It was also nice to walk home from work in the daylight… it seemed forever ago that I could do that. So I just wanted to say welcome back sun πŸ™‚

So I had a pretty awesome weekend. It began with a spot of holiday shopping which is no where complete as yet but I’m glad I made a start. A spur of the moment trip to the cinema on Saturday evening with my 13 year old niece presented us with ‘The Hunger Games’ which pleasantly surprised me as I wasn’t really expecting much from this film. I haven’t read the book but people who have tell me that its so much better than the film. I don’t doubt this for a second but as it takes me so long to get through a book I have no intention in reading it. Some people were disappointed because the film was aimed at pre-teens which I expected anyway as my niece has been going on about it for months. I couldn’t help thinking that the whole concept of the film was just a little bit brutal for young people to digest but I was happy that it wasn’t too graphic as I didn’t fancy explaining to my sister why her daughter was having nightmares. All in all I liked the weirdness of it but I wouldn’t say that it’s better than ‘Harry Potter’ as some media have been saying.

I had a lazy Sunday morning catching up with ‘Britain’s got Talent’ leaving myself just half an hour to get dressed and slap on some make-up before running out of the door to catch a train to Camden town where I met my mate Mandy for food, drinks at ‘The Worlds End’ and onto Koko to see Lostprophets perform. It wasn’t a proper gig, they were filming for an album chart show and people who had bought tickets to see them in May had been invited along for free to be part of it. To be honest I wasn’t expecting them to sing as many songs as they did… about eight from what I recall! One being their new single ‘Bring ‘Em Down’ and one of my favourites ‘Rooftops’. Roll on May when I get to see their full show πŸ™‚

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

4 responses »

  1. I haven’t seen Hunger Games yet, but I’ve heard several people echo your statement that it isn’t entirely appropriate for children. Thinking I might read the book before I see the film. Were you able to read the book first, or was the movie your first experience with the story?

    Indy

    Reply
    • I haven’t read the book at all but my niece had so she sort of knew the characters already. It probably would be best to read the book first though πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

