RSS Feed

Vampires don’t Sparkle

Posted on

My fascination for vampires started when I was 4 years old, I loved the old 80’s series of ‘The Little Vampire’, but even as a child I took it to the extreme. When most little girls wanted to be ballerina’s I wanted to be a vampire. I think my family got a little worried at the point when I tried to jump out of a tree thinking I could fly, fortunately my sister was there to catch me. My all time favourite film is ‘The Lost Boys’ starring Keifer Sutherland and the late Corey Haim, a film that was introduced to me when I was about 10 years old by my then best friends brother who wouldn’t actually let me watch it and I quite naturally developed a curiosity.

Now considering my love for all things vampire; you wouldn’t expect me to be interested in The Twilight Saga but surprisingly I am! in fact it’s so wrong it’s right. This afternoon I finally got around to seeing ‘Breaking Dawn’ at the cinema with my niece and it didn’t disappoint. I was most impressed that it didn’t feature a single sparkling vampire this time which is one part of Stephenie Meyer’s interpretation of vampires I didn’t agree with. You can’t beat a hardcore Vampire film but if your looking for a Love story, these are your films although they may not be a die hard vampire fans cup of tea.

Without giving away the plot, the beginning was a little slow but once it got going the scenes were a little more graphic than previous films and the intensity made me clench my fists, especially in sympathy of Bella’s pain whereas my 12 year old niece hid behind her hands. Now just to wait for part 2!

About shez

Aspiring poet ~ theatre goer ~ animal lover and vegetarian ~ YouTube Viewer ~ twitterer ~ Superhero, Zombie and Vampire fan.

Leave a Reply

